The Sultan's Wife

The Sultan's Wife

Paperback - 2012
Average Rating:
Rate this:
3
Page-turning mystery, grandly seductive romance, and full historical immersion into Moroccan court history, this exquisitely depicted and intensely absorbing novel follows in the tradition of "The Tenth Gift" and "The Salt Road." 1677, Morocco. Behind the magnificent walls and towering arches of the Palace of Meknes, captive chieftain's son and now a lowly scribe, Nus Nus, is framed for murder. Meanwhile, a young Englishwoman named Alys Swann has been taken prisoner by Barbary corsairs and brought to the court. She faces a simple choice: renounce her faith and join the Sultan's harem or die. Alys and Nus Nus find themselves thrust into an unlikely alliance - an alliance that will become a deep and moving relationship.
Publisher: [Canada] : Doubleday Canada, 2012.
ISBN: 9780385669993
Characteristics: 377 pages ;,24 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
l
LT
Jan 22, 2013

While not quite in the category of contemporary classic, this book is very readable, literate, and compassionate. I have no idea how historically accurate it is, but the descriptions within ring true.

branch_reviews Nov 03, 2012

Don’t worry if you’re not a fan of historical fiction. This book will grab you from the get-go! Set in 1677 Morocco, this is a gripping tale of a barbaric society: madmen and zealots, battles and piracy, plagues and sorcery. And that’s just for starters. The kingdom is ruled by the Sultan Moulay Ismail, a ruthless ruler who gorges his appetites as he builds his dynasty, protecting the kingdom against all enemies. No one is safe. So when the main character Nus-Nus is framed from murder, he is terrified. Through his keen observations, we follow his attempt to escape punishment and survive the evils of various conniving characters. The plot thickens when the beautiful Alys is captured from a ship headed for England, and brought to the Sultan’s harem, threatening the succession of the evil “First Wife” Zidana’s sons. As Nus-Nus helps Alys in this new place, they develop a strong bond of friendship and support. Then the Sultan sends an envoy of ambassadors to meet with the King of England, and a daring escape plan is set into motion. Author Jane Johnson has created an exotic, compelling and epic adventure, not to be missed. Reviewed by LZ

s
suzannebeaudin
May 24, 2012

This is Jane Johnson's third book and by far the best. Situated in Morocco in the early 1600's while Louis IX's reigning in France and Charles II is on the throne in England. It is a great page turning adventure whether in the Sultan's harem or in London. Loved this book just because it was good escape while learning some things about history.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Related Authors

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at my library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top