Tragedy Plus Time

Tragedy Plus Time

A Tragi-comic Memoir

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
3
In the tradition of A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius and Truth and Beauty, from one of Variety's "10 Comics to Watch," a poignant tragicomic memoir about the author's beautiful, funny, and heartbreaking relationship with his younger sister and the depression that took her life. Adam Cayton-Holland went from a painfully sensitive kid growing up in Denver, Colorado, to a writer and performer with a burgeoning career in comedy. His father, a civil rights lawyer, and his mother, an investigative journalist, taught Adam and his two sisters to feel the pain of the world deeply and to combat it through any means necessary. Adam chose to meet life's tough breaks and cruel realities with stand-up comedy; his older sister chose law; their youngest sister, Lydia, struggled with mental illness and ultimately took her own life. This devastating tragedy strikes the Cayton-Holland household at the same moment Adam's career is finally getting off the ground. Both a moving tribute to a lost sibling and an inspiring guide to navigating grief and pain, Tragedy Plus Time is a heartbreaking, honest, and darkly funny memoir about trying your hardest to choose life in the wake of a terrible loss.
Publisher: New York ;, Toronto :, Touchstone,, 2018.
Edition: First Touchstone hardcover edition.
Copyright Date: ©2018
ISBN: 9781501170164
1501170163
Characteristics: xi, 236 pages ; ,22 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
ArapahoeSarahD Mar 18, 2019

This Colorado based comedian is here to provide the world with laughs and an important message about mental health. Some may consider his life tragic while he, sees the comedy in it all.

w
wiredonjava
Mar 06, 2019

One of the best books about suicide I have read. Adam's story clearly shows the paradox of life, losing a beloved sister due to steadily declining mental health, while reaping the benefits of his amazing talents in his rise to success. I loved the pride he demonstrated towards his family.

ArapahoeAmanda Aug 23, 2018

Simply fearless. Adam Cayton-Holland dives deep into one of the worst moments of his life. He celebrates the life of his little sister in vivid detail as he shares childhood memories, inner struggles in college and love of comedy and rise to national prominence. All the while, his sister is there to share the highs and lows of life. From the prologue to the epilogue, it is haunting, hilarious and touching. Adam shares a brutally-honest life side that is relatable on so many levels for so many people that you won't put the book down until you are finished.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at my library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top